Fall Foods

Its almost fall, and fall is my favorite time of the year. I love all of the awesome foods like squash, apples, pumpkins, and potatos. Today I felt like I welcomed fall with all the fall food I made!

This morning, I made sweet potato chips to put in my lunches. They are super simple to make and really healthy and tasty. All you have to do is slice the sweet potatos super thin, either with a mandolin or a kitchen knife. Then toss them in a bowl with some olive oil and salt and pepper until each slice looks like it has been coated evenly. I also like to add an Italian touch with dried parsley, oregano, and basil flakes. After you spice them with what you’d like, place them on a baking sheet with parchment paper and bake them at 400 degrees ferenheit for 25 minutes or until golden brown and crunchy. I love these because they are healthier than store bought potato chips, and they taste great. They’re a great addition to lunches. You can substitute regular potatos if you’d like.

image

Tonight for dinner, I made a spaghetti squash dish. Lately I have been obsessed with replacing flour noodles with a vegetable such as zucchini or squash. I found a really great recipe for a spaghetti squash meal. You can’t even tell that you’re eating squash instead of pasta! Here is the link for the recipe that I love to use http://iowagirleats.com/2015/10/16/very-veggie-spaghetti-squash/

It makes a lot so you can have yummy leftovers for easy meals!

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

