Nutrition Labels and Serving Sizes

Today I’m going to talk a little bit about my idea of nutrition labels and serving sizes. I think it’s great to always get the right amount of what you need and know what you are putting into your body. All you have to do is start reading nutrition labels and figuring out what your personal nutrition needs are.

Here is an example. This morning, I had some Greek yogurt and fruit for breakfast. I read the nutrition facts for 1 cup of yogurt. I knew that I probably wouldn’t be able to eat a full serving of yogurt and some fruit without being too full. This is only for me personally. I decided to half the yogurt’s serving size to only 1/2 cup. This way I knew that I would have just enough, and not too much, breakfast to kick start my day. If you are still hungry after you already eat the recomended, or less, amount then serve yourself some more or eat something different.

Another thing to pay attention to is the difference between organic items and not organic items. Organic items are a little more expensive and have a slight different taste so if you are not interested in them, that’s okay. They are, not all the time, but normally healthier for you though. If you can’t even read a lot of the ingredients in something you might not want to get it because you don’t know what you’re putting into your body. I always like to get organic peanut butter because the only ingredient is nuts, no added sugars or oils.

Next time you’re at the grocery store my goal for you is to compare some not organic items with some organic items. Just look at the ingredients and the nutrition labels, and see which one is best for you. Remember, not a lot of people can afford organic groceries or just don’t like them. If you can and want to give them a shot, go ahead, if not, no one is ever going to make you.

Leave a Reply

