Smoothies and Stir Fries

This morning for breakfast I made myself a smoothie. I put frozen mixed berries, banana, spinach, ice cubes, and milk into my smoothie. It was really delicious. It filled me up just right. If a smoothie doesn’t fill you up enough to start the day I would suggest serving it with a protein such as nuts, eggs, or granola.

image

My favorite part about making smoothies is seeing what color they turn out to be. Here are some great guidelines to choose to start making your awesome smoothie:

1/2 cup fruit such as berries, mangoes, apples, bananas, or pineapples

1 cup liquid such as water, any kind of milk, juices, iced coffee, or iced green tea

1/2 cup veggies such as beets, spinach, kale, carrots, or romaine lettuce

If you want to make it creamy you can add 1/4 cup items such as low fat Greek yogurt, frozen banana slices, or fresh avocado

If you want to make it sweet you can add 1/2 tablespoon (1 1/2 teaspoons) of items such as raw honey, agave, or real maple syrup

If you want to add some healthy flavor you can add 1/2 teaspoon of items such as ginger, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, cocoa powder, or vanilla

If you need an energy boost you can add 1 serving of items such as your regular protein powder, ground oats, ground nuts, spirulina, or chia seeds

Add your fruit, veggies, liquid, and any optional ingredients to the blender. Add some ice and blend on high until smooth, or add ice after pureeing.

image

Tonight for dinner, I made a quinoa, veggie bowl. I love quinoa because it is one of the healthier grains, and it tastes pretty good. I cut up some carrots, purple cabbage, red bell pepper, cucumber, green onion, basil, and I added some spinach. I just stir fried this in some olive oil and salt and pepper. I fried two eggs and served it all over some quinoa with a little cilantro to top it off. It was very filling and tasty. I love stir fries because you can add whatever you’d like and serve it with whatever you’d like.

 

 

Leave a Reply

