The Farmers Market

Today was a beautiful Saturday to go to our local farmers market. I love going to the farmers market. All the produce is so fresh, and it’s a great way to support local farmers. We got some really great produce such as yellow squash, Asian pears, cucumbers, and possibly the biggest head of purple cauliflower I’ve ever seen. We also got some celeriac and kohlrabi. These are some pretty funky vegetables that I’ve never tried before and that I wanted to try to cook with.

image

I would suggest checking out your local farmers market if you have one. Farmers markets are a great source of local, fresh vegetables for a good price. There’s no better way to get to know where your food comes from.

For dinner I made a stir fry served on top of purple cauliflower purée. I used mushrooms, yellow bell pepper, carrots, and celery tossed with olive oil in my stir fry. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, dried oregano, dried basil, and dried parsley.

For the purée I steamed the cauliflower until it was soft enough to blend into a purée in the blender. I added some water to make it blend easier. Some cream or milk would help it blend and taste really nice too. It was really simple.

image.jpegI was hoping that the dish would’ve turned out a little more colorful with the purple cauliflower and all the other lovely colors. It isn’t the prettiest thing I’ve eaten, but it tasted great!

Leave a Reply

