Steak and Veggies For Dinner

Tonight for dinner, my dad and I cooked an awesome, easy meal. We made elk steak and roasted vegetables. It was really delicious.

IMG_1704.JPGWe coated mushrooms, bell peppers, broccolette, and brussel sprouts with olive oil, salt, and pepper and roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. The mushrooms took a little less time. While the vegetables were cooking, we prepared the meat.

My dad hunted the elk that we ate tonight. He taught me how to properly slice the meat and remove all the fat. I looked through our spices and found a spice rub that I made in a cooking class that I have taken many times. I thought it would be very fitting for the dish. I rubbed the elk with the rub, black pepper, salt, and olive oil.

We tried a new cooking technique that we’ve never used for steak before. We pan seared the steaks for about one minute on one side and then flipped them to the other. We stuck them in the 400 degree oven, while they continued to sear on that side, for about 7 minutes. They were perfectly medium rare.

Cooking tonight with my dad was awesome. I think we both learned some new things and cooked an amazing meal. It was really fun and extremely tasty!

Leave a Reply

