White Meat vs. Dark Meat

My mom roasted a chicken last night. I had chicken with roasted brussel sprouts, carrots, bell peppers, and sweet potatoes for dinner tonight. I have never really understood the difference between white meat and dark meat. Whenever I am asked if I prefer white or dark meat, I never know what to say.

White meat on a turkey or chicken comes from around the breast. The dark meat is concentrated around the legs. I have done some research and found out that white meat is leaner and lower in fat than dark meat. However, there isn’t a huge difference.

Dark meat on a chicken is richer in nutrients and contains more iron and zinc than white meat does. I have also heard that it has a better flavor than white meat. Any way you slice it, chicken is a great, healthy source of protein. What do you prefer, white meat or dark meat?

 

Leave a Reply

