Béchamel Sauce

Tonight, I familiarized myself with some cooking skills that can come in handy. One of those skills was making a béchamel sauce, or white sauce. It can be a key component in many dishes. It may not be the healthiest component, but I think it is always great to expand my knowledge in the kitchen.

I started out with melting 2 tablespoons of butter in a pot. I then added 2 tablespoons of flour, stirring constantly to form a paste like consistency. I slowly poured in 1 1/4 cups of warm milk while still stirring. Once this was nicely combined, I brought it to a boil, reduced the heat, and let it cook for 2-3 more minutes. I added salt and pepper as well.

You can jazz up this sauce any way you’d like. Stirring in fresh or dried herbs or cheese are a few options. I melted cheddar cheese into my sauce and added some cayenne pepper. I combined it with prepared elbow macaroni and bacon pieces to make an easy macaroni and cheese!

Leave a Reply

